Number 8 – Litter picking

Today I picked up all the litter in a park close to where I live. Parts of it are quite looked after, but other parts aren’t so nice because of rubbish which has blown there. I worked for about an hour and got a bag or rubbish as well as a box of recyclable materials.

I also found a letter from a son to his dad asking why the dad left him and whether he loves him and why he did certain things. It was quite moving. I’d love to be able to help people like him or families who are having difficulties. My partner and I are hoping to join an organisation -‘Big Brothers, Big Sisters’ – where you are a voluntary mentor for ‘medium-risk’ children, so hopefully in the near future we will actually be able to give some support and compassion to someone who is perhaps in a similar situation to that boy.
IMG_20140301_150756
Leave a Reply

