Number 20 – Earth Hour

Last night I celebrated Earth Hour.

Begun by the WWF in 2007, Earth Hour is an annual international event where individuals, businesses and whole cities turn off non-essential appliances that use electricity for an hour, as an act of environmentalism.

This event saves a huge amount of energy across the world, and stops many, many tons of carbon dioxide being emitted in to the atmosphere. (Results from Earth Hour 2013 can be found here: http://theenergycollective.com/sbattaglia/203061/earth-hour-2013-results-are).

I celebrated by going out with my new friend Gail (see post ‘Number 14’), who really wanted to go and see an event that was on near us where hot air balloons are blown up and illuminated in the darkness. I was not that keen to go because it was a bit late for me on a night where I have to work the next day, but I knew she really wanted to and so decided I would as well, as otherwise she would have missed it. I actually had a really good time and am glad I went, plus I am extra happy that she had a lovely evening.

http://www.earthhour.org

http://www.worldwildlife.org

 

Leave a Reply

