Number 22 & 23 – Donations to Oxfam & paying it forward

A couple of months ago, before I had started this challenge, I signed up to do a pay-it-forward act where I receive a gift from a friend, and in turn give gifts to five other friends (who nominate themselves and then do the same for another five friends). Almost all of my friends live outside of New Zealand, predominantly in Europe, so I had a bit of a dilemma when I realised how much postage was going to cost to send multiple international packages. But then I had an idea!

One of the friends I was to send something to had recently discovered she was gluten intolerant and was sad because she was unable to find gluten-free crisps where she lived in Ireland, so I sent her a box full of them and other goodies for her to eat (luckily crisps aren’t heavy!). For the other friends, aside from the card, the main gift was from Oxfam Unwrapped, as that way I could send them something they’d like, do something good, and avoid excessive postage costs, all at the same time! I thought one was particularly appropriate as my friend is a farmer and his gift was a pile of manure (double up as fertiliser), but sent to a farmer in a country who needed it more than my friend.

I am also counting this act for day 26 of the ‘Do Lent Generously’ challenge.

http://www.oxfam.org/en/getinvolved/unwrapped – this site links to the Oxfam Unwrapped websites of various countries.

http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pay_it_forward

http://www.pifexperience.org

 

Leave a Reply

