Number 35 – Wrote to someone living in a war-zone

I am a pacifist. I am 100% for the non-violent resolution of conflicts and do not believe a war can ever be won because lives have been lost in the process (and it doesn’t matter which side they were on, whether they were civilians or soldiers, because they were all someone’s children, someone’s parents, someone’s loved ones, and that makes it terrible). 

I do not know what it is like to live in a war-zone, but I know it must be very difficult. If I could, I would write to anyone and everyone who is affected by armed conflict, and tell them I am sorry they are in this dangerous place and hope that peace follows soon. I wish each person safety, and it doesn’t matter to me which side they are on or which country they belong to.

I have spent some time searching the internet trying to find out how I can contact people living in regions of armed conflict, but it is hard to do. The closest thing I have found (for now) is to write to a soldier from the USA. So that is what I did.

My message read something along the lines of:

‘Dear Soldier,

Thank you for being so brave and for being willing to go through so much hardship and danger for other people.

I am actually a pacifist but even though I disagree with armed conflict, I have a deep respect for you and the other soldiers who are trying to make the world a better place. And I wanted to write and tell you that just because I am anti-war does not mean I am ‘anti-soldier’, and I am sending you sincerest love and best wishes.

I would be very interested to learn more about the life you live while deployed. What are the best parts of your day, and what are the worst? As well as a soldier, who are you? What do you like to do?

Peace and love,

Camilla’

http://www.forgottensoldiers.org/write-a-soldier

Leave a Reply

