Number 63 – Created a Sustainability Policy and action plan for a charity

The soup kitchen I help co-ordinate under the Hamilton Homeless Trust does wonderful work feeding people every night, but I know that many of the people that volunteer on different nights use disposable plates, cutlery and cups. Including polystyrene – argh!

I volunteered and was met with support when I suggested writing a Sustainability Policy and creating an Environmental Action Plan for the charity, so that they can reduce their waste generation and generally become more environmentally-considerate and sustainable.

I was nervous to suggest this as I did not know if it would be something of interest to the charity, but the Trust committee was really enthusiastic about it. I am really excited to do this and love being able to use my professional skills for voluntary work.

I am very excited and will keep this section updated as goals are made, policies are adopted, etc.

Leave a Reply

