Number 80 – Helped give someone a hand with costs of living

At school there was a girl in the year below me. We knew each other a bit and spoke on occasion, but weren’t ‘friends’ as such. Years later we reconnected on Facebook and have stayed in touch (not closely, but staying up to date with each other). She and I share similar values and passions (especially surrounding environmental and social justice) and I have a lot of respect for her (probably more than she knows).

She recently moved to a different country and has found herself in a position of some financial difficulty. She set up a fundraising page to help her be able to fund getting her life in the USA established:

http://www.gofundme.com/h9ytgs

I gave her a donation (anonymously – it felt more appropriate) as she is a very inspiring person, is an advocate of just causes and those whose voice needs to be heard, and I am certain she will do a lot in her life to make this world a better place. I wanted to do this because we all need help sometimes, and I have received so much support from friends and strangers throughout my life that it felt ‘right’ to give something back.

(P.S. – If you happen to be in L.A. and would like to befriend a really cool person who will change the way you think about the world, please do contact her – I am sure she will appreciate it).

Leave a Reply

