Number 83 – Promotional work for Oxfam Unwrapped

Oxfam have an initiative called ‘Oxfam Unwrapped’ that helps raise funds for their work. The principle is that you buy a gift, but someone who needs it more receives it. For example you can buy a goat, but that goat will go to a family in Papua New Guinea. Or you buy a mosquito net, which is sent to someone living in a malaria-ridden country.

As the present-giving Christmas season is approaching, Oxfam are promoting this initiative, and as I have donated to them before, they sent me a promotional flyer in the post. And that is when I had the idea to pass it on to someone who actually may not know about Oxfam Unwrapped. Except this then led to me thinking I could actually do a big flyer drop in my neighbourhood.

So I got in touch with the Oxfam NZ head office. They were excited for me to do this and a few days ago a stack of 100 flyers arrived in the post. Yesterday I walked around my neighbourhood and put them in people’s letterboxes. Hopefully they will reach a few people that hadn’t heard of the initiative or had not thought of it this season.

http://www.oxfam.org/en/oxfam-unwrapped – At the bottom of this page are links to Oxfam Unwrapped online shops for different countries.

Leave a Reply

