Week 26 – Plastic free July

I’ve taken on the Plastic Free July challenge, which is about trying to reduce (or eliminate!) the amount of single use plastic you use.

What I’ve learned

I’ve learned that it’s blimmin’ hard! I already made my purchases based on a number of ethical/environmental/health criteria and did not think I was doing so badly, but now that single-use plastic is another consideration I realise just how few choices there are.

Action

We have certainly cut down the amount of single use plastic since starting the challenge, and we intend to keep it lower than it used to be even after the challenge has finished. I also became an ambassador for Plastic Free July in New Zealand (see Week 19 – Plastic Bags). and became the volunteer co-ordinator for the ‘Step 1: Get A Bag’ campaign, which is a local campaign aimed at reducing the use of single use plastic bags – https://www.pledgeme.co.nz/projects/3852-matt-andy-step-1-get-a-bag

One thought on “Week 26 – Plastic free July

  1. Yes, I’ve tried plastic-free in the past and it’s nearly impossible, as far as I can tell, unless you can find a shop locally which will sell bulk dried foods into your own containers. (A few of these do exist, but I’ve never lived close enough to one to use it!) The things which annoy me most are the ones I buy in single-use plastic and decant into my own containers at home – pasta, rice, beans, etc. I did have a win with toothpaste and shampoo, because Lush sell solid ones in cardboard or paper.

Leave a Reply

