Week 29 – The growth of more economically divided societies

As a fundraiser for Hamilton Homeless Trust, I went to see Russell Brand’s documentary ‘The Emperor’s New Clothing’ (trailer at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4Geq8dM13k).

What I discovered

I actually learned a lot from watching this film. Perhaps one of the things that has stuck in my mind is discovering that it was British Prime Minister Thatcher and USA President Reagan that pretty much brought in the free market economy, which before them was seen as a radical and extreme economic ideology and is now the dominant economic ideology in Western societies.

The documentary explored a lot of apparent causes of the growing financial inequality in many societies and I would recommend watching it (even if you aren’t a big Russell Brand fan).

Action

After watching the film and then reading up on different left wing political theories, my excitement about political activism was renewed. I became a member of the Green Party Aotearoa New Zealand, as well as put myself down as a volunteer for them.

Leave a Reply

